### May Crowning at Ave Maria Study Club

### TIMES-REPUBLICAN

The Ave Maria Study Club met May 10 at St. Henry in the Madonna Room.

crowning А May was held. The crowning opened with Dan Good leading the singing of "Immaculate Mary." Anne Ramsdell crowned Mary. The women responded "pray for us" to the celebration "Prayer A Litany of Mary." Jean Miller read the prayer "Salutation to The Blessed Virgin Mary" by St. Francis of Assisi. Sandy Good lead the praying of the Rosary. Rose Ann Jero and Gerry Best shared their experiences with faith calling on Mary during difficult times.

Refreshments were served by hostesses Jean Studts and Helen Ramsdell. They also had May baskets filled with popcorn and candy treats for the women.

The program entitled "The History of May Crowning" was presented by Marj Higgins. Devotion to Mary, Jesus' mother, was popular since the earliest days of the church. In the 18th century in Italy, May was used as a time to

honor Mary. In 1945, Pope Pius the XII solidified May as a Marian month after establishing the feast of the Queenship of May on May 31.

Good called the business meeting to order. Secretary Edith Podhajsky read the April minutes. They were approved as read. Higgins gave the treasurer's report. The balance brought forward was \$234.43. In April, as a thank you to Cindy Staron, a donation of \$50 was made to the Emergency Food Box leaving a balance of \$184.43.

The June meeting is scheduled for June 14. Dianne Maile moved that the club meet at Legends at 11:30. a.m. Best seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Good reminded everyone that a Mass for living and deceased members of Ave Maria Study Club will be at 4:30 p.m. on June 15 at St. Henry. Members are to meet in the narthex.

Good passed around a sign-up sheet for volunteers to serve as hostesses and program committee members for next year.

Election of Officers for



CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

2024-25 was held. There was no nomination for president. With the consent of the group Good and Jero agreed to serve another year in that capacity. Higgins agreed to serve another term as treasurer. As Podhajsky asked to be relieved of job as secretary, Maile moved that Mindy McDonald be nominated to serve as secretary. Miller seconded the motion. The motion carried.

Good thanked Podhajsky for her many years of service as secretary and the wonderful articles that she wrote for the TR.

Everyone joined in praying the Prayer for Priests and the Act of Faith. Good asked God to bless everyone as the members close the year.



CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

### Beta Sigma Phi installs officers

Beta Sigma Phi Chapter, Sigma Master, met for lunch on May 14 to celebrate Mothers Day and also the installation of officers for the year 2024-25. Past President Caralee Hutchens opened the meeting with minutes of the last meeting, read and approved. There were seven members present, two absent, and one guest. Karen Shipley-Cooper installed Dorothy Perry as president, Barb Noid as treasurer and Alice Nicholson as recording secretary. Perry was presented with a yellow rose. Pictured left to right are: Nicholson, Noid and Perry.

# **Genealogy Group** meets May 19

#### TIMES-REPUBLICAN

The Genealogy Interest Group of the Historical Society of Marshall County will meet at 1:30 p.m. on May 19 in Room B at Marshalltown Public Library, 105 W. Boone St.

Judy Nanke will present a PowerPoint program entitled "Exploring Amsterdam and Germany." She will share photos of her 2023 trip to these locations, which included several German ancestral villages. Anyone interested in family history research is welcome to attend.

## Chapter JU meets at Glenwood Place

#### TIMES-REPUBLICAN

Twenty members of Chapter JU of the P.E.O. Sisterhood attended the May 6 meeting which was held in the Gathering Place at Glenwood Place, hosted by Marilyn Downs with Tea

Committee of Eleanor Stegmann, Eleanor Tjossem and Bette Bagnall.

An informative presentation on life at Glenwood Place was given by Brooke Davis of Glenwood. A business meeting was conducted thereafter with discussion regarding

possible merging of Chapters; further exploration of this will occur in months ahead.

Next meeting will be held June 17 at the home of Ann Isgrig and will include information and update from the State convention.



5

**Alainey Happe** 





Blake Fisher



**Connor Hassin** 





**Emily Juarez-Bautista** 



Kaydence Devig

**Matthew Wenner** 



**Gavin Christians** 



**Bravden Burke** 

**Alex Clover** 



**David Fuller** 

Haley Eakins

**Landen Neuroth** 

**Carlie Vos** 

**Dennis Bryant** 



**Alexus Little** 







**Arion Seiser** 

**Carter Brummel** 



**Devin Morgan** 





Landon Wegner

**Morgan Neuroth** 



Layla Negrete

**Nicefor Arredondo** 



**Madeline Anderson** 



**Nicholas Backen** 



**Peyton Gannaway** 





**Kaleb Grant** 

**Elijah Blanchard** 



**Raylee Gile** 



Rayne McIIrath



**Kendal Kramer-Awes** 









Sara Weitzell



**Teagan Glenney** 





**Thomas Gomez** 



**Travis Story** 

Ava Bringmann



**Chloe Sawyer** 

Audrey Andresen



**Dyllon Betts** 

Ashley Quastad

**Carter Lavender** 











**Madoline Bell** 



Makayla Kerber





**Isabelle Hendricks** 







**Drew Gartin** 

**Johnathan Edel** 





